The 2010 Assessment: People and Contacts

The Assessment effort is organized into teams of specialists, with one team for each Assessment subtheme. The effort is managed by a FRAP Executive Committee with teams also developed for outreach, publication, GIS analysis, data management and web support. Each FRAP subtheme team is preparing detailed scoping documents, including topical outlines, data sources (existing and needed), modeling frameworks and work plans.

Outreach will be both general and specific. Initial outreach will be to share the overall approach of the Redesign document (Final Guidance) with various agencies and stakeholders for their input. We are working in conjunction with other parts of CAL FIRE, USDA Forest Service Region 5, the California Department of Fish and Game and other stakeholders.

FRAP staff are available to answer questions about the Assessment and be part of the process.


  • Rich Walker
    2010 Assessment Lead
    Research Program Specialist (Remote Sensing / Watersheds)
    707.576.8210
    Rich.Walker@fire.ca.gov
    1.1 Population Growth and Development Impacts

  • Chris Keithley
    Research Program Specialist (GIS / Watershed Modeling)
    916.445.5344
    chris.keithley@fire.ca.gov
    3.1 Water Quality and Quantity Protection and Enhancement
    3.7 Climate Change: Threats and Opportunities

  • Mary Klaas Schultz
    Research Program Specialist (Urban Forestry Economics)
    916.324.5981
    Mary.Klaas-Schultz@fire.ca.gov
    3.2 Urban Forestry for Energy Conservation and Air Quality

  • Robin Marose
    Research Program Specialist III (GIS)
    916.324.1646
    robin.marose@fire.ca.gov
    3.6 Green Infrastructure for Connecting People to the Natural Environment
    3.4 Emerging Markets for Forest and Rangeland Products and Services

  • David Passovoy
    Environmental Scientist (Fire and Biodiversity)
    916.445.4301
    David.Passovoy@fire.ca.gov
    3.5 Plant, Wildlife and Fish Habitat Protection, Conservation and Enhancement

  • Mark Rosenberg
    Research Program Specialist (Remote Sensing/Vegetation/Fire)
    916.445.5366
    mark.rosenberg@fire.ca.gov
    1.2 Sustainable Working Forests and Rangelands
    2.2 Insect, Disease and Other Threats to Ecosystem Health and Community Safety

  • Dave Sapsis
    Research Program Specialist (Fire Modeling and Behavior)
    916.445.5369
    dave.sapsis@fire.ca.gov
    2.1 Wildfire Threat to Ecosystem Health and Community Safety

  • Jim Spero
    Research Program Specialist (Fire Economics)
    916.324.7185
    James.Spero@fire.ca.gov
    3.3 Planning for and Reducing Wildfire Risks

This Google™ translation feature is provided for informational purposes only.

The California Department of Forestry and Fire Protecton is unable to guarantee the accuracy of this translation and is therefore not liable for any inaccurate information resulting from the translation application tool.

Please consult with a translator for accuracy if you are relying on the translation or are using this site for official business.

If you have any questions please contact us here.

Select a Language Below / Seleccione el Idioma Abajo

Close this box or use the [ X ]